NCAA Division II Weight Throw Entries and Preview

Published by Martin Bingisser
Mar 6th 2012, 7:51pm | 1390 views

With eight athletes (five men, three women) competing in the weight throw at the NCAA Division II Championships this weekend, Ashland is a name to look out for. The small school in Ohio has been a juggernaut in the weight throw for years, but this year they have been especially dominant. Ryan Loughney leads the nation by more than a meter on the men's side with his best of 22.99 meters. He is the only thrwoer that has broken 22 meters, and he has done so three out of four meets this year. To top it all off, his only loss of the season was to US Champion AG Kruger. Behind him battling for the silver medal will be Richard Quick. Quick has not lost to another D2 thrower (other than Loughney) this season and bosts a strong best of 21.94 meters. He will be chased by three more throwers over 21 meters, which reflects on the exceptional level of competition in the D2 ranks this year.

Grand Valley State has the top two woman qualifiers led by Liz Murphy. Murphy's personal best from two weeks ago clearly outdistances the field, but she has not thrown within one meter of that mark the rest of the season. She traded wins with teammate Sam Lockhart throughout the season, and Ashland's Kelly Ash has also thrown over 20 meters and is not far behind the pair.

                               NCAA Division II                               
                    2012 Indoor Track & Field Championships                    
                     Mankato, MN  - 3/9/2012 to 3/10/2012   
Men Weight Throw
           Name                        Year School            Seed Mark           
  1     59 Ryan Loughney                 JR Ashland              22.99m 
  2     61 Richard Quick                 SR Ashland              21.94m 
  3    193 Matt Royer                    SR Indianapolis         21.53m 
  4    134 Derrick Vicars                SR Findlay              21.20m 
  5    387 Matt Royer                    SR Wayne State (Neb.)   21.01m 
  6     60 Cory Meuleman                 SO Ashland              20.59m 
  7     57 Garrett Grey                  FR Ashland              20.54m 
  8     53 Craig Call                    SR Ashland              19.97m 
  9    195 Ryan Smith                    SO Indianapolis         19.50m 
 10    408 Ryan Walstrom                 JR Western State        18.92m 
 10    259 Brandon Karlin                JR Nebraska-Kearney     18.53m 
 12    233 Mark Manno                    JR Lock Haven           18.47m 
Women Weight Throw
           Name                        Year School            Seed Mark           
  1    167 Liz Murphy                    JR Grand Valley State   21.19m
  2    165 Sam Lockhart                  JR Grand Valley State   20.61m
  3     46 Kelly Ash                     SR Ashland              20.25m
  4    416 Jenny Schuler                 SR Winona State         19.62m
  5     49 Jessica Bridenthal            FR Ashland              19.60m
  6    127 Jessica Rowland               JR Findlay              19.56m
  7    277 Kristin Cameron               SR Northwood            19.46m
  8     51 Kim Habegger                  FR Ashland              19.08m
  9     35 Bidemi Balogun                SR American Int'l       18.65m
 10    170 Jamie Smith                   JR Grand Valley State   18.64m
 11    351 Ashley Dewitt                 SO Tiffin               18.55m
 12    180 Kathy Dirksen                 JR Hillsdale            18.41m
 13    414 Michelle Potter               SR Winona State         18.34m
 14    385 Carlz Fehringer               SO Wayne State (Neb.)   18.32m is a published by the non-profit Evergreen Athletic Fund and edited by Martin Bingisser. Please consider donating to help support the site.

Donate to the Evergreen Athletic Fund

Post to:
Post as: 
Switch to Full Version