Upload a Photo Upload a Video Add a News article Write a Blog Add a Comment
Blog Feed News Feed Video Feed All Feeds





USA Indoor Championships Fields Hurt by Late Scratches - rrw

Published by
Matt   Feb 25th 2011, 9:40pm

By Chris Lotsbom
(c) 2011 Race Results Weekly, all rights reserved. Used with permission.

(25-Feb) -- With the 2011 edition of the USA Indoor Track & Field Championships set to begin tomorrow in Albuquerque, N.M., several late scratches have caused the fields for the distance events to shrink. 

In the women's 3000m, 2008 Olympian Amy Begley has withdrawn, scuttling a potentially excellent match-up with USA steeplechase record holder Jenny Simpson.  At this point, only seven women are entered in that race.

Also scratched is Russell Brown in the mile, the winner at the mile at the New Balance Grand Prix in Boston.  "Russell is not running," said his manager Chris Layne of Total Sports U.S. in a text message.  "Was never really in the plans, but just to cover the base we entered him."  Brown, who trains with Andrew Wheating under coach Vin Lananna in Eugene, Ore., will focus on building up for his outdoor season, instead.

University of Oregon redshirt senior A.J. Acosta also has pulled out of the mile.  Garrett Heath, Brown's former teammate at Stanford University, scratched from the 3000m, but is still declared for the mile.   

Further scratches include Heidi Dahl in the 800m, Lauren Johnson in the mile, and Lauren Bonds in the 3000m.  Bonds has declared in the mile, though, and is still likely to run. 

The men's 3000m offers the most robust field with Bernard Lagat, Galen Rupp and Brent Vaughn all competing.

Full event fields are listed below.  The meet, which begins Saturday and concludes Sunday, will be the final stop of the 2011 Indoor Visa Championship Series. 

Athletes are listed by name, with their affiliation, qualifying mark, and declaration status. An asterisk (*) denotes times which were run at a different distance but still met qualifing standards i.e., a 1500m mark for the mile or a 5000m mark for the 3000m.

Tetlo Emmen, unattached, 1:47.95, declared
Mark Wieczorek, unattached, 1:48.99, declared
Jacob Hernandez, Nike, 1:49.53, declared
Brandon Shaw, unattached, 1:49.63, declared
James O'Brien, Indiana Invaders, 1:49.74, declared
Mark Husted, unattached, 1:50.03, declared
Anthony Luna, unattached, 1:50.17, declared
Duane Solomon, Saucony, 1:50.22, declared
Joshua Slamka, Wisconsin Runner Racing Team, 1:51.70, declared
Shawn Lindbom, unattached, 1:49.54, open
Raymond Parker, Greater Philadelphia TC, NT, open

Kyle Miller, Nike, 3:41.99, declared
Garrett Heath, Saucony, 3:55.87, declared
Jeff See, Saucony, 3:58.15, declared
Rob Myers, Saucony, 3:58.87, declared
Aaron Braun, adidas / McMillan Elite, 4:00.38, declared
Joshua McAdams, New Balance, 4:01.43, declared
Tommy Schmitz, Saucony / Wisconsin Runner Racing Team, 4:01.55, declared

Brent Vaughn, Nike, NT, declared
Bernard Lagat, Nike, 7:39.35, declared
Aaron Braun, adidas / McMillan Elite, 7:50.11, declared
Jeff See, Saucony, 7:50.23, declared
Christopher Barnicle, New Balance, 7:55.70, declared 
Trevor Dunbar, unattached, 8:00.10, declared
Scott Smith, McMillan Elite, 8:00.34, declared
Jeremy Johnson, Brooks, 8:00.88, declared
Derek Scott, Puma, 8:01.68, declared
Kyle Alcorn, Nike, 8:02.56, declared
Galen Rupp, Nike / Oregon TC Elite, 13:11.44*, declared
Kyle Perry, New Balance, 8:03.20, pending
Ryan McNiff, unattached, 8:05.76, pending
Brian Medigovich, Hansons-Brooks Distance Project, 8:05.87, pending
Alejandro Ruiz, Nike, NT, open

Phoebe Wright, Nike, 2:00.39, declared
Erica Moore, unattached, 2:03.51, declared
Angee Henry, Team Nebraska Brooks, 2:03.80, declared
Heather Kampf, Asics / Team USA Minnesota, 2:05.31, declared
Jesse Carlin, unattached, 2:06.09, declared
Stephanie Charnigo, unattached, 2:06.28, declared
Kimarra McDonald, unattached, 2:06.85, declared
Lindsey Schnell, unattached, 2:07.03, declared
Laura Januszewski, Brooks, 2:07.84, declared
Melanie Hardy, unattached, 2:07.87, declared
Stephanie Herrick, CPTC New Balance, 2:08.09, declared
Molly Beckwith, unattached, 2:03.01, open
Tamika Kinchen, unattached, 2:07.57, open

Sara Hall, Asics, 4:15.35*, declared
Heidi Dahl, New Balance, 4:16.99*, declared
Sara Vaughn, adidas, 4:20.52*, declared
Lesley Higgins, New York Athletic Club (NYAC), 4:20.72*, declared
Dana Mecke, unattached, 4:22.67*, declared
Catherine Beck, CPTC New Balance, 4:25.00*, declared
Jenny Simpson, New Balance, 4:28.60, declared
Frances Koons, New Balance, 4:31.53, declared
Lauren Bonds, Adidas Raleigh Track Club, 4:34.65, declared
Gabriele Anderson, Brooks / Team USA Minnesota, 4:35.17, declared
Karly Hamric, RIADHA, 4:37.55, declared
Heather Kampf, Asics / Team USA Minnesota, 4:37.76*, declared
Annick Lamar, New York Athletic Club (NYAC), 4:40.92, declared
Mason Cathey, unattached, 4:42.36, declared
Asher Kyger, unattached, 4:47.94, pending

Jenny Simpson, New Balance, 8:50.78, declared
Allison Kieffer, Sun Elite, 9:08.00, declared
Sara Hall, Asics, 9:11.17, declared
Stephanie Pezzullo, unattached, 9:21.20, declared
Erin Dromgoole, New Balance Boston, 9:22.13, declared
Mindy Sullivan, unattached, 9:25.73, declared
Lois Ricardi Keller, Club Northwest, 9:34.35, pending

Post to:
Post as: 
History for USATF Indoor Track and Field Championships
2015 1 560 17 331 1
2014 1 467 16 694  
2013 1 656 9 314  
2012 1 400 16 451  
2011 1 533 15 338  
2010 1 110 12 291  
2009 1 10 10 72 1
2008 8 20 31 99 2