Upload a Photo Upload a Video Add a News article Write a Blog Add a Comment
Blog Feed News Feed Video Feed All Feeds





Bayer Takes World Lead in 3000 at the Gladstein Invitational

Published by
Shane   Jan 22nd 2011, 5:46am

Bayer Highlights Record Breaking Night at the Gladstein Invitational  -  Courtesy Indiana University


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Redshirt sophomore Andy Bayer took the world lead with a track and school record in the 3,000 meters on day one at the Gladstein Invitational. The meet produced world-leading marks and a junior college national record, and there is still a day of competition to go.

Bayer's time of 7:48.35 in the 3,000m is the fastest in the world this year and the fastest in school history. Bayer got an assist from the man whose record he ended up breaking as IU legend Stephen Haas set the pace for the first 2,000 meters. His time was 2.65 seconds better than the school record and 3.01 seconds better than the facility record. Three teammates followed Bayer in as Hoosiers took places 1-4. Andrew Poore's second place time of 7:55.54 is the second fastest in the world this year and is the third fastest in school history surpassing Bob Kennedy's collegiate PR.

Ben Hubers was third in the 3K in 7:59.68, becoming the sixth Hoosier all-time to run a sub-eight minute 3,000. His time is the fifth-best in IU lore and the third-best in the nation this season. His time is also the seventh fastest in the world this season. Zach Mayhew was fourth in 8:05.96 for the fifth-spot on the national list.

In the women's pole vault, Natalya Bartnovskaya of Vincennes University took the win with a clearance of 4.15m (13-7.25). The height is the best in national junior college history. She broke the previous record by a foot and 1.75 inches.

In the women's 3,000m, Chelsea Blanchard took the win with a time of 9:24.41, the third fastest in the NCAA this season. Teammate Sarah Pease took fourth in 9:31.16, which ranks fifth on the national list.

In the women's shot put, Faith Sherrill took the win in a field that featured six throwers with marks on the season that rank among the world's top-20. She won with a throw of 17.39m (57-0.75). Former Hoosier Tiffany Howard took second (16.71m (54-10)) moving into 12th on the world list. Sherrill's teammate Monique Riddick showed that she too is among the nation's elite, taking third with a heave of 16.42m (53-10.5), good for seventh on the national list and 17th in the world this season.

In the invitational mile races, Danny Stockberger and Andy Weatherford finished 1-2 in 4:05.54 and 4:05.98, putting themselves in the nation's top 10 on the season. Caitlin Engel, Breanne Ehrman and Arianne Raby went 1-2-3 in 4:52.55, 4:53.43 and 4:53.52 respectively.

Laura Morris (3,495 pts.) and Courtney Woodard (3,424 pts.) finished second and third in the pentathlon. Woodard's score moved her into seventh all-time in IU history.

Olumide Olamigoke won the triple jump with a hop skip and jump of 15.21m (49-11). Patrick Onye took second in the weight throw with a heave of 19.68m (64-7), good for third in the IU record book.

Ann-Marie Clarke and Jordan Gray went 1-2 in the 400m invitational. They finished in 56.78 and 56.81 respectively. In the men's invitational 400, Chris Vaughn finished second in 48.7779, just .0012 out of first.

Four Hoosiers advanced to a Saturday final in the men's 60 meters, including Kind Butler and Devin Pipkin, who had the top advancing times in the prelims. In the women's 60m, Aireonna Bailey advanced with a time of 7.69 seconds, good for sixth all-time at Indiana.

Derek Drouin finished day one of the heptathlon with a 412 points lead on the field. Through four events, he has 3,144 points.

Read the full article at: iuhoosiers.cstv.com
Post to:
Post as: 
History for Indiana Gladstein Invitational
2016 1   1    
2015 1   1    
2014 1   1    
2013 1 1 1    
2012 1 4 3    
2011 1   2    
2010 1   1    
2009 1   1