Upload a Photo Upload a Video Add a News article Write a Blog Add a Comment
Blog Feed News Feed Video Feed All Feeds





Hostetler, Wheating Slated for Hayward Debuts at Oregon Relays - GoDucks.com

Published by
ross   Apr 29th 2010, 4:13am

The Ducks host the Oregon Relays, presented by Oregon Community Credit Union, this Friday and Saturday at Historic Hayward Field. Featured events begin at 7 p.m. Friday and 11 a.m. Saturday. The lower sections begin at 3 p.m. Friday and 10 a.m. Saturday, with the main high school competition getting underway at 1:40 p.m. Saturday. Approximately 2,300 college, professional and high school competitors are entered in the 2010 Oregon Relays.

The Oregon Sports Network will webcast the collegiate portions of the Oregon Relays, presented by Oregon Community Credit Union, on www.GoDucks.com. Friday’s web window will be between 6 and 9:30 p.m. Saturday’s web window will be from 11 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. A subscription to the O-Zone is required to watch the webcast. The high school portion of the Oregon Relays will be shown on www.runnerspace.com.

Though competition will be ongoing all weekend, the Oregon Relays will have two featured sections, Friday from 7-9:30 p.m. and Saturday from 11 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Here’s a glance at the entries from those featured sections:
Women’s Javelin (6:30 p.m.)
Notable Entrants: Rachel Yurkovich (Nike)
The women’s javelin (6:30 p.m.) is worth showing up 30 minutes ahead of the featured section with school and Pac-10 record-holder Rachel Yurkovich scheduled to throw. The two-time NCAA champion and four-time Pac-10 champ, who now competes for Nike, will be making her 2010 Hayward Field debut.
Women’s 1,500 Meters (top section, 7 p.m.)
Notable Entrants: Jordan Hasay and Alex Kosinski (Oregon), Jemma Simpson (OTC Elite), Sarah Bowman (New Balance), Lauren Hagans (asics).
Hasay ranks fourth in the NCAA in the 1,500 and should be in a fast race against professionals Simpson, Bowman and Hagans.
Men’s 1,500 Meters (top section, 7:15 p.m.)
Notable Entrants: Andrew Wheating, Matthew Centrowitz and A.J. Acosta (Oregon), Lee Emanuel (New Mexico), Russell Brown, Stephen Pifer and Ian Dobson (OTC Elite) and Jermaine Mays (Great Britain).
Wheating’s 2010 Hayward debut comes against the NCAA indoor mile champion Emanuel, a host of talented pros from OTC Elite and Great Britain, and teammate Centrowitz, whose PR is less than half a second off the school record.
Women’s 5,000 Meters (7:20 p.m.)
Notable Entrants: Nicole Blood and Mattie Bridgmon (Oregon), Lauren Fleshman and Julia Lucas (OTC Elite).
Men’s 10,000 Meters (8:30 p.m.)
Notable Entrants: Galen Rupp (Nike), Michael Maag, Danny Mercado, Diego Mercado and Luke Puskedra (Oregon), Simon Ndaringu and Matthew Kisorio (Kenya).
If the weather cooperates, Rupp, the 14-time All-American and six-time NCAA champion for Oregon in 2008-09, could take a shot a breaking Meb Keflezighi’s 2001 American record of 27:13.98.
Men’s Hammer (11:30 a.m.)
Notable Entrants: Jordan Stray (Oregon), James Rogan (Idaho).
Event features two of the NCAA West Region’s top throwers. Rogan is 11th nationally, while Stray is No. 13.
Men’s 400 Meter Hurdles (12:00 p.m.)
Notable Entrants: Nick Karren (Utah State), Nigel Joseph (Colorado State), David Klech, Eric Hersey and Marshall Ackley (Oregon).
Karren (No. 14 nationally) and Joseph (No. 33 nationally) challenge a trio of Ducks.
Men’s Javelin (12:30 p.m.)
Notable Entrants: Cyrus Hostetler, Alex Wolff and Mike Simmons (Oregon), Trent Mazanec (Wichita State), Brock Solverson (Concordia, Wis.), John Hetzendorf (unattached).
The featured field event of the relays has three of the nation’s top nine throwers (No. 3 Wolff, No. 6 Simmons, No. 9 Mazanec), a Division II thrower at 230 feet (Solverson) and a post-collegian at 236 (Hetzendorf), not to mention the 2010 debut of Pac-10 and school record-holder Cyrus Hostetler.
Women’s 100 Meter Hurdles (12:30 p.m.)
Notable Entrants: Christie Gordon (Idaho), Brianne Theisen and Lyndsay Pearson (Oregon).
Gordon, 20th nationally in the event, goes against Theisen, the UO school record-holder, and Pearson.
Men’s 110 Meter Hurdles (12:50 p.m.)
Notable Entrants: Ashton Eaton (Oregon), Paul Dittmer (Idaho), Todd McKown (Wichita State).
The 110 hurdles features three of the West’s best in Eaton (No. 13), Dittmer (No. 23) and McKown (No. 30).
Women’s 800 Meters (1:10 p.m.)
Notable Entrants: Zoe Buckman (Oregon), Sarah Bowman (New Balance), Lauren Hagans (asics), Jessica Pixler (Seattle Pacific).
Collegians Buckman and Pixler, an NCAA D-II mile champion who set the school 800 record of 2:04.89 less than two weeks ago, go up against pros Bowman and Hagans.
Women’s Hammer (1:15 p.m.)
Notable Entrants: Sarah Grimm (Utah), Nicole Luckenbach (Eastern Washington), Gabby Middles (Idaho), Caressa Simms and Chandra Andrews (unattached).
Deep field finds three of the nation’s top 25 collegians, including No. 5 Grimm, No. 12 Luckenbach and No. 24 Midles, competing against a pair of post-collegians who have gone over 200 feet (Sims and Andrews).
Men’s 800 Meters (1:20 p.m.)
Notable Entrants: Andrew Wheating, Elijah Greer and Travis Thompson (Oregon), Elias Koech, Matt Scherer and Christian Smith (OTC Elite).
Andrew Wheating, in one of his last signature races at Hayward Field, and teammates Elijah Greer and Travis Thompson will be in a fast field with a trio of OTC Elite runners.

Those coming earlier on Friday might want to show up for the women’s long jump (4:15 p.m.) to watch Wichita State’s La’Taish Brown, ranked 12th in the country, and Oregon’s Brianne Theisen. Brown has a season-best of 20-10.5, while Theisen’s PR is 20-3.75 (wind-aided).

For those interested in the high school schedule, there is a brief session Friday night from 5-6 p.m. and another short session Saturday from 10-11:05 a.m.

The majority of the high school events come on Saturday beginning at 1:40 p.m. and continuing to the last event at 7:30 p.m.

Read the full article at: www.goducks.com
Post to:
Post as: 
History for Oregon Relays - OregonRelays.com
2015 1 463 12 645  
2014 1 409 9 499  
2013 1 218 4 874  
2012 1 217 12 1314  
2011 1 374 8 505  
2010 1 220 5 375 1
2009 1 199 3 387 2
2008 1 363 13 582 2
2007 2 91 5    
2006 1 32 9    
2005 1 2 5    
2004 1   2    
1996   21      
1991   22