Upload a Photo Upload a Video Add a News article Write a Blog Add a Comment
Blog Feed News Feed Video Feed All Feeds





Christopher Newport - Mason-Dixon Indoor TF CHAMPS!

Published by
Coach Matt   Feb 21st 2012, 1:57pm
Mason-Dixon Indoor Track and Field CHAMPS!

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. - The Christopher Newport University men's and women's team claimed the Mason-Dixon championship today in the Freeman Center. The men's team earned 171.5 points followed by Gwynedd-Mercy College with 124.4. The women's 168 points edged Methodist who earned 163.

Senior Dira Hansen was named the women's Track Athlete of the Year after scoring 24.5 points in track events winning the 400m, 800m and anchoring both the second place 4x400m relay and the distance medley.

Hansen was also earned the women's Field Athlete of the Year honor after scoring 22 points in field events. She finished second in the long jump and triple jump and third in the high jump.

Junior Richard Roethel was named the men's Field Athlete of the Year. He scored 34 points in the field events winning the high jump and placing second in the pole vault, long jump and shot put.

CNU raked in another honor as head coach Tyler Wingard was named the Men's and Women's Coach of the Year after leading both teams to victory.

The Captains set 50 personal records a team and added eight scores to the program's all-time lists. Erin Rolaf's 5:22.97 in the mile puts her at number six while her 18:50.56 in the 5,000m gives her a fifth place spot on the all-time list. 

The Captains added three to the all-time list for the women's pole vault. Kalee Hammerton is now  third with her 3.35m (10-11.75) today. Lauren Snell earned the #4 spot with a score of 3.20m (10-6) while Kelsey Dolinger scored a 2.60m (8-6.25) good for ninth on the all-time list.

Also earning spots on all-time lists are Raymond Gamache at seventh in the men's 5,000k finishing at 15:22.64, Roethel at seventh in the pole vault with a 4.23m (13-10.5), and Jonathon Wade in fifth in the men's weight throw with a 13.84m (45-5) toss.

This is the 17th Mason-Dixon Indoor Championship for men and the 19th for women. 

Men's Team Scores:
1. CNU – 171.5
2. Gwynedd-Mercy – 124.5
3. Methodist – 80
4. Virginia Wesleyan – 46
5. Shenandoah – 34
6. Neumann - 5

Women's Team Scores:
1. CNU – 168
2. Methodist – 163
3. Shenandoah – 42
4. Virginia Wesleyan – 35
5. Gwynedd-Mercy – 32
6. Neumann - 23

Women's Track Athlete of the Year: Dira Hansen
Women's Field Athlete of the Year: Dira Hansen

Men's Track Athlete of the Year: Matt VanDenHengel (GMC)
Men's Field Athlete of the Year: Richard Roethel

Men's and Women's Coach of the Year: Tyler Wingard
Read the full article at: cnusports.com
Post to:
Post as: 
History for Mason-Dixon Conference Indoor Championships
2013 1 43 2    
2012 1 231 4