2010 Results - Roy Griak Invitational - Track Talk

Jump to content

Welcome to Track Talk!

You will have to register for a RunnerSpace account before you can post: click the LOGIN / SIGN UP link in the top brown bar to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Page 1 of 1

2010 Results - Roy Griak Invitational

#1 15 September 2010 01:23 PM
RunnerSpace Moderator 31 Rep Points
Join Date: 30 Sep 2007
Posts: 2960

Griak Women's Maroon III Results Griak Women's Maroon III Results
Griak Women's Maroon II Results Griak Women's Maroon II Results
Griak Men's Maroon III Results Griak Men's Maroon III Results
Griak Men's Maroon II Results Griak Men's Maroon II Results
Griak Women's Gold Results Griak Women's Gold Results
Griak Men's Gold Results Griak Men's Gold Results
Boys' High School Gold Results Boys' High School Gold Results


The 2010 Griak Invitational welcomes thousands of competitors and cross country fans to the University of Minnesota and the 25th Annual Griak event.

Griak Women's Gold Recap

North Carolina State freshman Laura Hoer held off Minnesota junior Stephanie Price to win the individual title in the Jack Johnson Women’s Gold (Division I) Race at the 25th Annual Roy Griak Invitational on Saturday.

Hoer crossed the finish line in 20:38.40, two seconds ahead of Price, for what has to be the biggest win of her young career. Hoer is the first freshman to win the Jack Johnson Gold Race since Duke’s Sheela Agrawal won in the last year the race covered 5K in 1999.

“This was unbelievable. I didn’t expect this coming into this race, but we definitely put in a lot of hard work, and my coach told me to just stick with the front group, and if I felt good, not to be afraid of anyone. So I just tried to stick with the girls who were in the front, and to do the best that I could.”

Arizona placed five runners among the top 25 to win the team title with 76 points, followed by New Mexico (101), Iowa State (111), Duke (117) and Providence (135) rounding out the top five. Minnesota finished seventh with 180 points, with freshman Missa Varpness finishing 27th in 21:47.

Griak Men's Gold Recap

The 21st-ranked Duke Blue Devils placed five runners among the top 25 to win the Merrill Fischbein Men’s Gold (Division I) race at the 2010 Roy Griak Invitational on Saturday. It was the first Griak title for Duke in just its second appearance after finishing third in 2009. Senior Bo Waggoner was the top finisher for Duke, taking eighth place in 24:26.8.

The individual champion was Arizona’s Stephen Sambu, who broke away from the rest of the field to cross the finish line 23:40.7, well ahead of runner-up Nicholas Kipruto of New Mexico (23:59.6).

“From the beginning, the race was really nice, and I was comfortable from the beginning until the end,” Sambu said. “The course was a little slippery because of the rain. My strategy is to stay at the front until 5K, and then to break away. I’m so happy, and I feel great to be able to win.”

New Mexico (80 points) and North Carolina State (80) finished tied for second in the team standings, followed by Brigham Young (102) in fourth place, and the University of Minnesota (117) in fifth.

Griake Men's Maroon II Recap

Augustana (S.D.) scored 60 points to win its second Roy Griak Invitational Maroon II Race title. The Vikings’ top finisher was Matt Braithwaite in eighth place. Travis Beniak (9), Daniel Black (11), Tor Tengsreid (13), and Ryan Evans (19) also finished in the top 20. Augustana placed 10th at the NCAA Championships last year. The Vikings’ first Griak title came in 1993.

Regina senior Kelly Wiebe captured the individual title in 24:54.2. Wiebe, a member of the Canadian national cross country team, finished ahead of Azusa Pacific’s Abednego Magut and Wisconsin-Parkside’s Ben Orvold.
“The first K went out pretty fast and it seemed like the leader died quite hard, and I had quite a good lead on the rest of the pack so I just held it for the rest of the race,” said Wiebe.

Regina finished sixth overall. Coming in second and third after Augustana were UW-Parkside and Concordia Nebraska.

Griak Men's Maroon III Recap

Wisconsin-Platteville scored 47 points to win the Roy Griak Invitational Maroon III Race. Patrick Klein and Jason Garvens finished third and fourth, respectively, to lead the Pioneers to their first title. Platteville, last year’s Griak runner-up and NCAA ninth-place team, also saw Bill Clift (10), Anthony Swimm (13), and Nathan Petesch (17) finish in the top 20.

Concordia Moorhead junior Tom Sederquist won the individual title with a time of 25:39.2. He gained and held onto a lead over a tight pack of runners, including Klein, Garvens, and runner-up Nate Stymiest of Wisconsin-Oshkosh. Sederquist is the Cobbers’ first Griak champion.

“The last half (of the race) I was thinking, ‘Man, I can’t wait ‘til this is over,’” said Sederquist. “With those guys chasing me, it was tough. I just tried to keep my confidence and go.

Wisconsin-Eau Claire finished second in the team standings with 99 points, Wisconsin-Oshkosh was third with 123.

Griak Women's Maroon II Recap

The Minnesota-Duluth Bulldogs scored 70 points to win the Roy Griak Invitational Women’s Maroon II Race for the second straight year. Duluth junior Morgan Place led the Bulldogs, running a time of to win her third consecutive individual Griak title. Bridget Hines (6), Whitney Hines (19), Michelle Sancartier (20), and Hannah Jocelyn (24) also scored for Duluth.

“It feels unbelievable,” said Place of her title. “It just feels amazing. It’s a good test early in the season to see where I’m at.”

Place, who placed sixth in the NCAA Division II Championships a year ago, joins former Wisconsin-Platteville Tyler Sigl (2005, 06, 07) as the only three-time winners of collegiate races at the Griak Invitational.

University of Mary (98) came in second, with Melissa Agnew (7) as its top finisher. Azusa Pacific (121) finsihed third, with Lauren Jimison finishing third and Poppy Lawman finishing fifth overall. Individually, Jamestown’s Katie Conlon came in fourth.

Griak Women's Maroon III Recap

Wisconsin-Oshkosh scored 65 points to win its second Roy Griak Invitational team title in the Women’s Maroon III Race and first since 1990. The Titans’ top finisher was sophomore Christy Cazzola, who posted a time of 22:19.6 to finish third overall. Oshkosh placed all of its scoring runners in the top 25 with Jenny Piskor (8), Brittany Haas (15), Mallory Burk (21) and Allison Gehl (23) running at the lead of the pack.

Defending NCAA Division III champion Wisconsin Eau Claire finished second with 88 points, but celebrated the individual titlist in junior Alyssa Sybilrud. Sybilrud ran a time of 22:04.4. She is the first Blugold to win a Griak individual title.

“I tried to be a little patient for the first mile, keep catching and moving up through the 4K, and then just (give) everything I had 5K to the finish,” Sybilrud said of today’s race. “I wasn’t feeling too good so I went out a little bit too patient, but I think it paid off in the end. I think we’re looking really strong and we’re hoping for a repeat. We put all the work in, so it’s all there.”

Carleton junior Simone Childs-Walker came in second (22:15.3), and the Knights came in eighth. Senior Amanda Laesch of North Central College and sophomore Linda Keller of Minnesota-Morris took fourth and fifth, respectively.

Posted Image

Page 1 of 1

Share this topic:

Fast Reply


1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

------DyeStat Track Talk Forums------

HS General
HS Elite
The Plaground
West Region
Midwest/Heartland Region
South/SE Region
New Jersey
New York
New England