You should never delete athlete's with misspellings or other superficial issues. All athlete's may have results or photos or videos etc attached to them, if you delete them the system will not know that those belong to another athlete. All athlete's should be merged or edited rather than deleted.
Edit the athlete by clicking on the edit link next to that athlete on the roster page
If two of the same athlete are on your roster, then they should be merged as one to the correct athlete. This takes all the results/photos/videos etc and brings it over to the correct athlete and nothing is lost. To merge your athletes, Just post any corrections here http://www.runnerspa...showtopic=53371
and one of us will reply back in the forum thread after it is done.
Post below with any further questions.