Upload a Photo Upload a Video Add a News article Write a Blog Add a Comment
Blog Feed News Feed Video Feed All Feeds


Photos (0)
Videos (38)
News (33)
Blogs (0)





USA South Announces Conference Awards

Published by
Coach Matt   Oct 25th 2011, 6:39pm

USA South Announces Cross Country Individual Awards

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) - The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its Runner, Rookie and Coach of the Year awards for men's and women's cross country. For the women, Mary Baldwin College's Sophia Stone was named Runner of the Year, Shenandoah University's Dorothy Earner earned Rookie of the Year honors while her coach, Andrew Marrocco captured Coach of the Year accolades. On the men's side, Christopher Newport University swept the honors as Runner and Rookie of the Year accolades went to Ray Gamache and Brad Turner, respectfully, while their coach Matthew Barreau was named Coach of the Year. Also, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of one member from each competing school. All honors were determined by votes from the cross country coach at each institution.


Stone, a sophomore from Pacific Palisades, California, becomes the first Mary Baldwin athlete to earn a USA South Player of the Year honor. She was the top performer in four of the five events she entered this fall. Stone set two school records during the season, one at 5,000 meters and the other at 6,000 meters. She had a season-best time of 21:17 at the 6,000 meter Don Cathcart Invitational hosted by Salisbury University where she placed second out of 144 runners. Additionally, Stone received four USA South Runner of the Week honors this fall.


A freshman from Falls Church, Virginia, Earner played a key role in the Hornets' successful 2011 season. She ran a season-best time of 24:18 at the 5,920 meter Salisbury Invitational, placing 41st out of 139 runners. Earner collected USA South Rookie of the Week honors three times this fall.


Marrocco, currently in his sixth season at the helm of Shenandoah's men's and women's cross country programs, earns women's coach of the year honors for the third consecutive season. The Hornet women are currently ranked tenth in the South/Southeast region and placed first in two events this fall.


Gamache, a junior from Burlington, Vermont, earns runner of the year honors after placing in the top-15 in each of the three races he competed in this fall. His season-best performance was a time of 25:36 at the Don Cathcart Invitational hosted by Salisbury University where he placed 15th out of 162 runners in the 8,000 meter event. Additionally, Gamache was named USA South Runner of the Week three times this season.

A Williamsburg, Virginia freshman, Turner has been an integral part of the Captains squad. His best performance of the season came at the Don Cathcart Invitational hosted by Salisbury University where he posted a time of 27:02 on the 8,000 meter course to finish 41st out of 162 runners. Turner was named USA South Rookie of the Week once this fall.


Barreau is currently in his first season at the helm of Christopher Newport's men's and women's cross country programs. Both the men and women Captains are currently regionally ranked. The Captain men defeated Virginia Wesleyan in a season-opening dual meet while their best performance came at the Don Cathcart Invitational hosted by Salisbury University where the team placed fourth.


The remainder of the both the Men's and Women's All-Conference teams will be decided at the upcoming USA South Championships. On the men's side, the all-conference first team will consist of the top-seven finishers while the second team will consist of finishers eight-14. On the women's side, there will be three all-conference teams. First team all-conference will consist of the top-seven finishers, the next seven finishers will be named second team all-conference while the following seven finishers will earn third team all-conference accolades. The Conference Championship Meet will take place on Saturday, October 29 at Hagan Stone Park in Greensboro, North Carolina. The women will run first at 10:00am, followed by the men at 11:00am.


Women's Runner of the Year Men's Runner of the Year
Sophia Stone, Mary Baldwin
Ray Gamache, Christopher Newport
Women's Rookie Runner of the Year Men's Rookie Runner of the Year
Dorothy Earner, Shenandoah
Brad Turner, Christopher Newport
Women's Coach of the Year Men's Coach of the Year

Andrew Marrocco, Shenandoah
Matthew Barreau, Christopher Newport

Women's All-Conference First Team
(Top-7 Finishers at Conference Meet)

Men's All-Conference First Team
(Top-7 Finishers at Conference Meet)
Women's All-Conference Second Team
(Finishers 8-14 at Conference Meet)
Men's All-Conference Second Team
(Finishers 8-14 at Conference Meet)
Women's All-Conference Third Team
(Finishers 15-21 at Conference Meet)

Men's All-Sportsmanship Team
Jyri Hayrinen - Averett
Eric Ginsburg - Christopher Newport
Joseph Cudjoe - Ferrum
Andre Porter - Greensboro
Peter Yuskat - Methodist
Jake Garcia - Shenandoah

Women's All-Sportsmanship Team
Erika Weyner - Averett
Julie Machamer - Christopher Newport
Haley Runion - Ferrum
Amanda Meinhardt - Greensboro
Sophia Stone - Mary Baldwin
Lara Pantlin - Meredith
Kenesha Bigelow - Methodist
Christina Hawes - Peace
Emily Hesse - Shenandoah
Read the full article at: www.usasouth.net
Post to:
Post as: 
History for Christopher Newport University Track and Field and Cross Country - Newport News, Virginia
2016   11    
2015 653 123 802  
2014 373 185    
2013 502 194 2  
2012 728 200 2216  
2011 254 46 1320 1
2010 1 2    
2009 1 1    
2008 1 1