Upload a Photo Upload a Video Add a News article Write a Blog Add a Comment
Blog Feed News Feed Video Feed All Feeds





O'Brien and Sterling Ready for USA Indoor M800

Published by
Coach Harger   Feb 24th 2012, 7:10pm

February 24, 2012

(Indianapolis, IN) The Indiana Invaders' James "Jimmy" O'Brien and
Drake Sterling will compete in the opening round of the USA Indoor Track & Field Championships Saturday, February 25, 2012 in Albuqueque, New Mexico.  O'Brien & Sterling will compete at 800 meters.

O'Brien & Sterling will contend for a spot in Sunday's 800 meter Final with the opening round scheduled to begin at 6:50 PM (MST).  O'Brien & Sterling posted their USA National Indoor Championship Qualification Marks for 800 meters on February 11th in the Special 800 Invitational held at Grand Valley State University's Big Meet. Indiana Invaders' Drake Sterling (1:49.24), James "Jimmy" O'Brien (1:50.08) and Juan Carrillo (1:50.74) swept the top three places of the Special 800.

A LIVE web-cast of the meet will be available starting Saturday at 4:30 PM (MST). 

Coach Greg Harger said, "O'Brien & Sterling are ready to compete.  O'Brien is making his 4th appearance at a USA National Championship including last year's 4th place finish. For Sterling this is his first USA Championship". Harger added, "Hundredths of a second typically separate the last three athletes making the final and the first three left out.  For pure spectating the 800 race indoors has great tactical action and yeilds great entertainment... not so much for the coaches involved.  We await the seeding information and then discuss tactical scenarios.  This is what we prepare for and we will embrace the opportunity".

The Indiana Invaders, a not-for-profit organization competing at USA National Championships since 1999, provide a resident-based, athlete-centered support system based in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Post to:
Post as: 
History for IndianaInvaders.com - Indiana Invaders Official Website
2015   3    
2014   2    
2013 11 17 6  
2012 15 26 9  
2011 10 16 20  
2010 23 17 19 2
2009 54 5 140 5
2008 2   1  
2007 1 8    
2006   11 2  
2005   9    
2004   12    
2003   12    
2002 1 11    
2001   18    
2000   14    
Visit IndianaInvaders.com