Windy City Pole Vault Summit - March 2, 2013

Published by Mike Newman
Feb 28th 2013, 5:06am | 19790 views

2013 Windy City Pole Vault Summit hosted by Rolling Meadows H.S.

By Frank Schweida

Rolling Meadows HS


This year marks the 12th year for one of Illinois’ most unique meets, The Windy City Pole Vault Summit hosted by Rolling Meadows High School.  This year’s Summit will take place on March 2nd and action will get under way at 4pm.  Some of the best pole vaulters in state will be there to compete against one another. 


On the girls side you will have U.S. ranked #9 Sarah Bell (Bloomington Central Catholic) leading the field.   She is the returning AA State Champion in pole vault and looks to make a strong push to repeat.  Bell will be challenged by a slew of AAA vaulters; most likely Mckenzee Kroeschell of Oak Park-River Forest, Carly Schmidt of Lake Forest, and Maya Golliday of Lake Park.  Golliday is currently ranked in the top 50 in the U.S.  Also look for Hannah Swift (top 50 U.S. ranking (Clinton H.S.), Brook Catherine (Normal Comm. West), and Taylor Knauf (Aurora Christian) to jump high! Single A schools will also be represented with the likes Reed-Custer’s Morgan Zacharias. The rest of the field will be looking to improve on their early season marks as well. 


The boy’s side of the competition will be host to an interesting contest.  Can anyone stop junior Luke Winder (Plainfield Central), ranked in the top 20 nationally from running away with the Summit Championship?  He has already cleared 15’6” this season!  Would be challenges could come from Chad Weaver (Providence Catholic) or Tim Ehrhardt (Lake Park).  We also have Central Illinois studs like Tyler Ginger (Olympia) and super frosh Adam Coulon (Tri-Valley) pushing the bar higher!  Adam has big plans as the indoor season comes to an end. The rest of the field is filled with returning All-Staters and those looking to be in Charleston at the end of May. 


Rolling Meadows High School is located at 2901 Central Rd.  in Rolling Meadows, IL.  The vaulting will begin at 4pm.  Past winners include the likes of NCAA Champion, Melissa Gergel, as well State Champs like Jake Winder and Mick Viken.  Special thanks to The Athletic Equipment Source for sponsoring this awesome event!  Don’t forget, admission is free and the vaulting is outstanding, so hope to see you there!

Post to:
Post as: 
Switch to Full Version